Advice and courses

The library offers counselling sessions and seminars on all topics related to your academic work. If you are interested in a consultation, please contact silke.egelhof@hs-aalen.de. Consultations can also be arranged via Zoom, for which the library offers a virtual consultation desk. Seminars on literature research, academic working (citing, etc.) or Citavi are provided by Studium Generale, among others.

Fit for the Subject Paper

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 60 minutes, max. 30 participants

After an introduction to the library and its services, a short tutorial on researching references and appropriate resources will follow.

Fit for the Library

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 30 minutes

During this tour of the library, participants will get to know the building and the most important services.

Fit for Project Work - Researching References

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 90 minutes

This session is designed for all students who have to write a project paper for the first time. Different kinds of scholarly literature will be introduced and where to find it will be explained, especially using the snowball system.


Fit for Project Work - Academic Working and Citation

Instructor: Ulrike Bretzger

Session length: 90 minutes

This course will focus on the elements of a scholarly paper. Direct and indirect citations will be discussed, as well as primary and secondary references. In addition, different citation styles will be presented.


Fit for Project Work - Citavi Basic Course

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 90 minutes

In the Citavi Basic Course, participants will learn different ways of how to import references into the Citavi project. They will learn how to organise the sources according to their future use and how to insert references and the bibliography into their paper using the Word Add-In.

Fit for the Thesis - Thematic bibliographic research in 5 steps

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 90 minutes

This session is designed for students of advanced levels or about to write their final thesis. Five steps will demonstrate how to identify meaningful search terms from the subject at hand, which types of publications are considered to be of high academic quality and where they can be found. Subsequently, search strategies (truncation, Boolean operators) will be discussed.


Fit for the thesis - How to avoid plagiarism by proper citation

Instructor: Ulrike Bretzger

Session length: 90 minutes

After a brief insight into good scientific practice, participants will learn about citable sources and how to substantiate them (footnote vs. short reference in the text). Direct and indirect citations will be discussed, advice will be given on academic writing style and on the information required in the bibliography.


Fit for the Thesis - Advanced Citavi Course

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 90 minutes

After a brief review of Citavi's importing capabilities, Citavi's assignment scheduling will be introduced. Subsequently, students will learn how to extract required information from available references using Citavi and how to structure this information in view of its future use. The citing of sources using the Word Add-In will be explored in greater depth.

Citavi Crash Course

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 180 minutes

This session combines the contents of the basic and advanced courses.


Crash course in academic working using Citavi and Word

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 180 minutes

This session also summarises the contents of the basic and advanced Citavi courses, underpinning the overall subject with information on the basics of academic working (proper citation, tips on writing style, elements of a scholarly paper).


Google & Fake News: Tips and tricks for successful Google searches

Instructor: Silke Egelhof

Session length: 90 minutes

Participants of this session will learn how Google works (index, ranking). They will also get tips on how to search using Google and they will be introduced to criteria helpful to determine the quality of web pages.


The courses listed above are offered in German within the scope of general studies.

Escape the library with Actionbound: this introduction to the library in the manner of an Escape Room game can be played from outside the library building.

Discover the Aalen University Library with Actionbound: on this guided tour through the library building, the app helps you get to know the library's various services.

Beratung und Kurse

Die Bibliothek unterstützt Sie gerne in Beratungsgesprächen oder auch über Seminare bei allen Themen rund um Ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit. Möchten Sie ein Beratungsgespräch wenden Sie sich an silke.egelhof@hs-aalen.de oder ulrike.bretzger@hs-aalen.de. Die Gespräche können auch per Zoom durchgeführt werden, dazu bietet die Bibliothek einen virtuellen Beratungsplatz an. Seminare zur Literaturrecherche, zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten (zitieren etc.) oder zu Citavi werden unter anderem über Studium Generale angeboten.

Wenn Sie Interesse an einem der unten stehenden Kurse haben, kommen Sie gerne auf uns zu. Die Kurse können auch speziell auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten werden.

Fit für die Facharbeit

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer 60 Minuten, max. 30 Teilnehmer

Nach einem ersten Teil, in welchem auf die Bibliothek und ihre Services eingegangen wird, gibt es eine kurze Einführung in die Literaturrecherche und in geeignete Recherchequellen.

Fit für die Bibliothek

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 30 Minuten

Während dieser Führung durch die Bibliothek lernen die Teilnehmer das Gebäude und die wichtigsten Services kennen.

Fit für die Projektarbeit - Die Literaturrecherche

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Dieser Kurs richtet sich an alle Studierenden, die zum ersten Mal eine Projektarbeit schreiben müssen. Es werden verschiedene Arten von wissenschaftlicher Literatur vorgestellt und erklärt, wo man diese Literatur vor allem mit Hilfe des Schneeballsystems findet.


Fit für die Projektarbeit - Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und Zitieren

Referentin: Ulrike Bretzger

Dauer: 90 Minuten

In diesem Kurs werden die Elemente einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit thematisiert. Es wird auf direkte und indirekte Zitate eingegangen, sowie auf Primär und Sekundärliteratur. Ausserdem werden unterschiedliche Zitierstile vorgestellt.


Fit für die Projektarbeit - Citavi Basis Kurs

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Im Citavi Basis Kurs lernen die Teilnehmer verschiedene Arten kennen, Literatur in das Citavi Projekt zu importieren. Es wird gezeigt, wie die Literaturquellen in Hinblick auf ihren späteren Verwendungszweck geordnet werden können und wie man mit Hilfe des Word Add-In Belege und das Literaturverzeichnis in seine Arbeit einfügt.

Fit für die Abschlussarbeit - Thematische Literaturrecherche in 5 Schritten

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Dieser Kurs eignet sich für Studierende höherer Semester oder Studierende, die bereits vor ihrer Abschlussarbeit stehen. In 5 Schritten wird aufgezeigt, wie man aus dem zu bearbeitenden Thema sinnvolle Suchbegriffe ermittelt, welche Publikationstypen als wissenschaftlich hochwertig gelten und wo diese gefunden werden können. Anschließend wird auf Suchstrategien (Trunkierung, Boolsche Operatoren) eingegangen.


Fit für die Abschlussarbeit - Plagiate vermeiden durch korrektes Zitieren

Referentin: Ulrike Bretzger

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Nach einem kurzen Einblick in eine gute wissenschaftliche Praxis, erfahren die Teilnehmer was zitierfähige Quellen sind und wie diese belegt werden können (Fußnote vs. Kurzbeleg im Text). Es wird über direkte und indirekte Zitate gesprochen, es gibt Hinweise zu einem wissenschaftlichen Schreibstil und zu den benötigten Angaben im Literaturverzeichnis.


Fit für die Abschlussarbeit - Citavi Aufbau Kurs

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Nach einer kurzen Wiederholung der Importmöglichkeiten in Citavi, wird die Aufgabenplanung von Citavi vorgestellt. Anschließend erfahren die Studierenden, wie sie der vorhandenen Literatur mit Citavi das nötige Wissen entnehmen und dieses in Hinblick auf den späteren Verwendungszweck ordnen. Das Belegen von Quellen mit dem Word Add-In wird vertieft.

Crashkurs Citavi

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 180 Minuten

Dieser Kurs fasst die Inhalte des Basis- und Aufbaukurses zusammen.


Crashkurs wissenschaftliches Arbeiten mit Citavi und Word

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 180 Minuten

Auch dieser Kurs fasst die Inhalte des Basis- und Aufbaukurses von Citavi zusammen, wobei das Ganze mit Informationen zu den Grundlagen eines wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens (korrektes Zitieren, Hinweise zum Schreibstil, Elemente einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit) unterfüttert wird.


Google & Fake News: Tipps und Tricks für eine erfolgreche Suche in Google

Referentin: Silke Egelhof

Dauer: 90 Minuten

Die Teilnehmer dieses Kurses erfahren wie Google funktioniert (Index, Ranking). Außerdem erhalten sie Tipps zur Suche mit Google und bekommen Kriterien vorgestellt, anhand derer man die Qualität von Webseiten bestimmen kann.


Escape the library mit Actionbound: diese Einführung in die Bibliothek im Stil eines Escape-Room Spiels kann von außerhalb des Bibliotheksgebäudes durchgeführt werden.

Die Hochschulbibliothek Aalen entdecken mit Actionbound: bei dieser Führung durch das Gebäude der Bibliothek, lernt man mit Hilfe der App die verschiedenen Services der Bibliothek kennen.