Faculty Management and Business Science

Areas of Studies

There are four areas of studies at the faculty of Management and Business Sciences, which summarises several related fields of study and bundles the issues in teaching, research and administration of a department effectively. At the same time the areas of studies serves as a central information platform for the department related students, lecturers, staff and professors. In addition to the four areas of studies the Dean, the Management Team (operates as a service centre to disburden the area of studies from administrative tasks), the Secretaries of the areas of studies, the academic staff and the Industrials Advisory Board are the other central bodies of the Faculty.

Area of Studies Business for Small and Medium-sized Companies (BSME)

The area of studies Business for Small and Medium-sized Companies (BSME) qualifies graduates for managerial and leadership roles in small and medium businesses, as well as for the successful realisation of their own business ideas. A particular emphasis is placed on innovation management, operational success and a sustainable corporate policy. The following study programmes are allocated to the area of studies BSME:

Business for Small and Medium-Sized Companies, B.A.

SME Management, M.A.

Area of Studies International Business Studies (IBS)

The area of studies International Business Studies (IBS) qualifies graduates for management and leadership positions in an international or IT context of a company. Special attention on the one hand will be paid to the provision of appropriate professional and linguistic skills as well as on intercultural competences; and on the other hand on a competent handling of business application systems, business processes and information management. The following study programmes are allocated to the area of studies IBS:

International Business Studies, B.A.

International Marketing & Sales, M. A.

Auditing, Finance, Governance, M.A.

Business Informatics, B. Sc.

Business Informatics, M. Sc.

Area of Studies Healthcare Management (HM)

The area of studies Healthcare Management (HM) qualifies graduates for managerial and leadership roles in health care. In particular, students gain personnel management skills, organisational expertise and deep knowledge of public health, health systems and contract management. The following study programmes are allocated to the area of studies HM:

Healthcare Management, B. A.

Healthcare Management, M. A.

Area of Studies Industrial Engineering (IE)

The area of studies Industrial Engineering (IE) qualifies graduates for leadership and management positions in business units that combine business and technical requirements. The study programmes in IE impart interdisciplinary expertise and know-how from the fields of engineering, business administration, marketing and management. The following study programmes are allocated to the area of studies IE:

Industrial Engineering, B. Eng.

Industrial Management, M. Eng.

Fakultät Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Studienbereiche

In der Fakultät Wirtschaftswissenschaften gibt es vier Studienbereiche, die mehrere verwandte Studienfächer zusammenfassen und die Belange in der Lehre, Forschung und Verwaltung eines Fachbereichs bündeln. Gleichzeitig dienen diese Studienbereiche als zentrale Informationsplattform für die mit dem Fachbereich verbundenen Studierenden, Lehrbeauftragte, Mitarbeiter und Professoren. Neben den vier Studienbereichen sind das Dekanat, das zentrale Fakultätsmanagement - als Service Center für die Studienbereiche zur Entlastung von Verwaltungstätigkeiten, die Studienbereichssekretariate, die akademischen Mitarbeiter und der Fachbeirat weitere zentrale Organe der Fakultät. „Ich bin sicher, dass wir mit diesem Schritt unsere Professionalität in vielen Prozessen verbessern und in den Studienbereichen die Mitarbeiter sich verstärkt um Lehr- und Forschungsunterstützung kümmern können. Am Ende gewinnt der Student an noch effektiverer Betreuung“, so Prof. Dr. Scheuermann, Dekan der Fakultät Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Studienbereich Betriebswirtschaft für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen

Der Studienbereich Betriebswirtschaft für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) qualifiziert AbsolventInnen für Management- und Führungsaufgaben in kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen sowie für die erfolgreiche Verwirklichung eigener Geschäftsideen. Besonderes Gewicht wird dabei auf das Innovationsmanagement, betriebliche Erfolgssicherung und eine nachhaltige Unternehmenspolitik gelegt. Dem Studienbereich KMU werden folgende Studienangebote zugeordnet:

Betriebswirtschaft für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, B. A.

Mittelstandsmanagement, M. A.


Studienbereich Internationale Betriebswirtschaft

Der Studienbereich Internationale Betriebswirtschaft (IBW) qualifiziert AbsolventInnen für Management- und Führungsaufgaben in einem internationalen oder informationstechnischen Unternehmensumfeld. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird dabei auf die Vermittlung von notwendigen Fach- und Sprachkenntnissen sowie interkulturellen Kompetenzen bzw. der kompetente Umgang mit betrieblichen Anwendungssystemen und Geschäftsprozessen sowie Informationsmanagement gelegt. Dem Studienbereich IBW werden folgende Studienangebote zugeordnet:

Internationale Betriebswirtschaft, B. A.

International Marketing & Sales, M. A. 

Auditing, Finance & Governance, M.A.

Wirtschaftsinformatik, B. Sc.

Wirtschaftsinformatik, M. Sc.


Studienbereich Gesundheitsmanagement

Der Studienbereich Gesundheitsmanagement (GM) qualifiziert AbsolventInnen für Management- und Führungsaufgaben im Gesundheitswesen. Insbesondere erlangen die Studierenden Führungs- und Personalkompetenzen, organisationales Know-how sowie fundiertes Wissen über Public Health, Gesundheitssysteme und Vertragsmanagement. Dem Studienbereich GM werden folgende Studienangebote zugeordnet:

Gesundheitsmanagement, B. A.

Gesundheitsmanagement, M. A.


Studienbereich Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen

Der Studienbereich Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (WIW) qualifiziert AbsolventInnen für Führungs- und Managementpositionen in Unternehmensbereichen, die betriebswirtschaftliche und technische Anforderungen kombinieren. Gezielt wird während des Studiums interdisziplinärem Know-how aus den Bereichen Ingenieurwissenschaften, Betriebswirtschaftslehre/Marketing und Management vermittelt. Dem Studienbereich W werden folgende Studienangebote zugeordnet:

Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, B. Eng.

Industrial Management, M. Eng.